Class Participation

My 600-hour adventure learning to apply makeup, excavate pores, and wax, um, everything. Learn more about the project, or catch up with Orientation and Week 1.

Milady's Standard Fundamentals for Estheticians

The lecture portion of class is spent reading from a PowerPoint presentation loaded above us on a flat screen monitor. We go around the room, taking turns to read aloud until Miss Jenny moves to the next person. There are six of us:

Blanche, who says she always loved makeup but never learned much about it because she was such a tomboy.

Meg, who tells me “I grew up here and never left,” at break. She has a toddler and is getting a divorce.

Stephanie, who is a high school teacher and hosts cosmetics parties on the side.

Sue, who sells Mary Kay and says she loves to make people feel beautiful.

Tasha, who sells Arbonne. She’s getting ready to take her state board exam in a few weeks and just sitting in on our class for a refresher.

And me. I’m pretty sure that I’m the youngest.

Half the class struggle with phrasing and pronunciation as they read.

A lot.

I like that Miss Jenny is patient about repeating a phrase (“tertiary colors” or “assessing a client”) until they get it, but I wonder if they do.

[photo credit: Delmar Cengage Learning, Milady’s parent company]

1 Comment

Filed under In Class, milady's, week 1

One response to “Class Participation

  1. Pingback: [Back to Beauty U] The Written Licensing Exam | Beauty Schooled

Leave a comment